Skip to Main Content

Art Resources

Test for Art Resources

Citation Help

APA Citation Help for Art Resources

Under each category, such as WikiArt and Artcyclopedia, you’ll find specific APA 7 citation instructions tailored to that source at the end.

All resources covered in this LibGuide, along with additional citation examples, are listed below. For comprehensive guidance on APA style, visit the APA 7th Edition Citation Style Guide linked in this guide.

  • The Basics & Help tab includes examples of various citation formats.
  • The Citation Software tab offers detailed information and tutorial videos on three citation software options to streamline your work.

Click here to access the APA 7th Edition Citation Style Guide.

Here’s a guide for citing various types of art-related information in APA 7th edition with general structures and art-related examples:

Print Art Book

Structure:
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of the book. Publisher.

Example:
Gombrich, E. H. (1995). The story of art. Phaidon Press.

Painting from a Print Art Book

Structure:
Artist. (Year of painting). Title of the painting [Painting]. In Author(s), Title of the book (p. xx). Publisher.

Example:
Van Gogh, V. (1889). The starry night [Painting]. In E. H. Gombrich, The story of art (p. 456). Phaidon Press.

Artwork in a museum or on a museum website

Structure:
Artist. (Year). Title of the painting [Painting]. Museum or Collection Name, City, Country. URL (if available). 

Example:
Monet, C. (1872). Impression, sunrise [Painting]. Musée Marmottan Monet, Paris, France. https://www.marmottan.fr

Use this format to cite all types of museum artwork, including paintings, sculptures, photographs, prints, drawings, and installations; always include a description of the medium or format in square brackets after the title. For untitled art, include a description in square brackets in place of a title.

WikiArt Article

Structure:
Title of the article. (Date retrieved). In WikiArt. URL

Example:
Artemisia Gentileschi. (2025, January 25). In WikiArt. https://www.wikiart.org/en/artemisia-gentileschi

Artcyclopedia

If you're using Artcyclopedia, you cannot cite it directly since it acts as an aggregator of links rather than a content provider. Instead, follow these steps to cite the resource that Artcyclopedia links to:

  1. Locate the original resource linked through Artcyclopedia (e.g., a museum website, academic journal, or another authoritative source).
  2. Use the details from the original source to format your APA citation.

Britannica Academic

Structure:
Group Author. (Year). Title of the article. In Britannica Academic. Retrieved Date URL

Example:
Encyclopedia Britannica. (n.d.). Kehinde Wiley. In Britannica Academic. Retrieved January 25, 2025 from https://academic-eb-com.miu.idm.oclc.org/levels/collegiate/article/Kehinde-Wiley/626332

Credo Academic Core

Structure:
Group Author. (Year). Title of the article. In Name of Encyclopedia. Retrieved Date URL

Example:
Gale. (n.d.). Yayoi Jusama. In Gale Biographies: Popular People. Retrieved January 25, 2025 from https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6ODUyMjgz?q=Yayoi%20Kusama

Note: Credo is not mentioned but cite only the specific encyclopedia article.

 

EBSCOhost Articles

Citation:

Use EBSCO's citation tool to cite in APA 7th edition.

  1. Open the article.
  2. Click the quotation mark icon to generate the citation.
  3. Double-check the reference:
    • Ensure the title is in sentence case (only the first word and proper nouns capitalized).

This quick method saves time but always review for accuracy!

ProQuest Central Article

Use ProQuest's citation tool to cite in APA 7th edition.

  1. Open the article.
  2. Click the quotation mark icon to generate the citation (on the top right).
  3. Double-check the reference:
    • Ensure the title is in sentence case (only the first word and proper nouns capitalized).
    • Do NOT include the URL in the electronic citation at the end.
    • Jumabhoy, Z. (2011, 05). Zarina Hashmi. Artforum International, 49, 306-307. Retrieved from https://login.miu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/magazines/zarina-hashmi/docview/867435415/se-2

This quick method saves time but always review for accuracy!

GALE Articles

Use GALE's citation tool to cite in APA 7th edition.

  1. Open the article.
  2. Click the quotation mark icon to generate the citation (on the top).
  3. Double-check the reference:
    • Ensure the title is in sentence case (only the first word and proper nouns capitalized).
    • Do NOT include the URL in the electronic citation at the end.

Adams, A. (2015). 'Leonora Carrington'. British Art Journal, 15(3), 126. https://link-gale-com.miu.idm.oclc.org/apps/doc/A412799405/GPS?u=maharishi&sid=bookmark-GPS&xid=5fcd8cf0

This quick method saves time but always review for accuracy!

Google Scholar Articles

Use Google Scholar's citation tool to cite in APA 7th edition.

  1. Under the article's short description, click the quotation mark icon ("Cite") to generate the citation
  2. Double-check the reference:
    • Ensure the title is in sentence case (only the first word and proper nouns capitalized).

This quick method saves time but always review for accuracy!

Regular Google Search Information

Structure:
Author(s). (Year). Title of work. Website Name. URL

Example:
Art Institute Chicago. (n.d.). Katsushika Hokusai. https://www.artic.edu/artists/31492/katsushika-hokusai 

(Author and website name are the same in this example therefore are not repeated)

Use the webpages and websites category if there is no other reference category that fits and the work has no parent or overarching publication (e.g., journal, blog, conference proceedings) other than the website itself

ChatGPT or Copilot Information

Citation:

Cite the individual sources provided by ChatGPT directly in APA 7 format. Be sure to follow APA guidelines for the specific type of resource (e.g., journal article, website, book).

The Dictionary of Art (Print Article)

Structure:
Author(s). (Year). Title of the article. In Editor(s), The Dictionary of Art (Vol. xx, pp. xx–xx). Publisher.

Example:
Seiberling, G. (1996). Picasso, Pablo. In J. Turner (Ed.), The Dictionary of Art (Vol. 24, pp. 712–730). Grove.